I have had BB4W for many years, I use it rarely but it's a great tool for making neat programs that use a Windows interface.
I have written a simple interface for a program that is otherwise command line only.
You choose options, select input and output files, then it generates and runs the command line.
The files are not associated with the program I want to call and can't be for practical reasons.
The problem is I can't for the life of me remember how to run a command line from BB4W; I'm sure I read ho to many years ago, but i can't find it anywhere.
Can anyone help me?
Thanks
Neil
Run another Wndows Program
- hellomike
- Posts: 184
- Joined: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 09:47
- Location: Amsterdam
Re: Run another Wndows Program
Checkout the Help for the OSCLI keyword. This should reveal all.
Regards,
Mike
Regards,
Mike
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Mon 27 Jul 2020, 17:14
Re: Run another Wndows Program
OSCLI!
I should have remembered that!
I should have remembered that!
Re: Run another Wndows Program
The command you need is *RUN but, yes, OSCLI is the way to access it when parts of the command are 'variable'.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Mon 27 Jul 2020, 17:14
Re: Run another Wndows Program
Many thanks, Richard, Mike.
I looked at 'RUN' but had forgotten about *run.
Unfortunately the standard MS Help search requires you to have just the right keywords.
Neil
I looked at 'RUN' but had forgotten about *run.
Unfortunately the standard MS Help search requires you to have just the right keywords.
Neil
Re: Run another Wndows Program
If you type 'run windows program' into the Search box in the BB4W help viewer, *RUN is the second hit:Stub Mandrel wrote: ↑Thu 30 Jul 2020, 17:22 Unfortunately the standard MS Help search requires you to have just the right keywords.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Mon 27 Jul 2020, 17:14
Re: Run another Wndows Program
Many thanks, it's always obvious when you know... I tried various permutations but my focus was on the windows command line...
Now I have to get my command line right...
Now I have to get my command line right...
Re: Run another Wndows Program
Don't forget the old trick: replace OSCLI by PRINT to see exactly the command you are constructing, or indeed use both:
Code: Select all
command$ = "RUN.... "
PRINT command$
OSCLI command$